Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Share

Announcing the 2023 TMA Hall of Fame Inductees

In celebration of its 35th anniversary, TMA proudly announces the 2023 inductees for the Turnaround, Restructuring, and Distressed Investing Industry Hall of Fame. 

The Hall of Fame honors and preserves the names of those whose outstanding individual contributions have made a lasting positive impact on an industry dedicated to stabilizing underperforming companies, rebuilding corporate value, and retaining jobs. The 2023 Hall of Fame inductees will be honored during an induction ceremony, panel, and breakfast to be held during the 2023 TMA Annual Conference in San Francisco, October 3-6, 2023. 

Hall of Fame inductees are characterized by various attributes that distinguish them as exceptional contributors to the field. They are widely recognized as leaders within the turnaround and restructuring community, commanding respect for their achievements and expertise. Their mastery extends beyond theoretical knowledge to practical applications in preserving corporate value, demonstrating a profound understanding of the concepts involved. Furthermore, these individuals have made significant contributions to the awareness, stature, and growth of their industry, leaving an indelible impact on its development.

The 2023 Turnaround, Restructuring, and Distressed Investing Industry Hall of Fame inductees

  • Kelley Cornish, Paul Weiss Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
  • Laura Davis Jones,Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones LLP
  • Jay Goffman, Teneo
  • William Snyder, CTP, CR3 Partners LLC
  • Al Togut, Togut, Segal & Segal LLP


Learn more about the 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees

Kelley Cornish, the first-ever female partner in Paul Weiss’ pre-eminent Restructuring Department, is an industry trailblazer, consistently recognized amongst the nation’s leading restructuring attorneys. As one of the few women nationwide leading major public and private company restructurings, Kelly has consistently attracted brand-name clients who rely on her skill and finesse to navigate some of the most complex bankruptcy issues of our time. Kelley is a fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy and was appointed as an inaugural member of its 2021 Commission on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. A highly respected DE&I leader, Kelley is a dedicated advocate of the LGBTQ+ community and for women’s advancement and women’s welfare.

Laura Davis Jones, who many call a pillar of the restructuring community for several decades, started her career as a judicial law clerk in the Bankruptcy Court in the District of Delaware. Laura quickly rose to the top ranks of our profession, gaining immediate recognition early in her career as debtors counsel for Continental Airlines.  Laura is well known as a fierce advocate, entrepreneurial in the managing and building of Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones’s practice, and mentor to many over the course of her illustrious career.  Tina’s Wish recently recognized Laura for her support of that organization’s mission to raise critical research funds for early detection and prevention of ovarian cancer.

Jay Goffman is currently the client chair of Teneo, practiced restructuring law for 37 years, the final 24 of which were as a partner and Global Head of the Corporate Restructuring Department at Skadden Arps.  Jay is widely recognized as the godfather of pre-packs, having invented and then pioneered the use of pre-packed restructurings. Jay further stands out for his charitable work with the China Institute and Cerebral Palsy Alliance Research Foundation. He is currently on the board of the Third Option Foundation, which aids in the healing, helping, and honoring of the CIA’s special operations community and families.

William Snyder, CTP, Founding Partner at CR3 Partners LLC. A TMA Certified Turnaround Professional, William has stood for exemplary industry excellence, starting his career in 1989 when he joined Buccino and Associates. An active TMA member and advocate, William is an industry-leading mentor to many.  He has many notable career highlights as a CRO, including serving in that role in the Texas Rangers baseball team's bankruptcy and Pilgrim’s pride restructuring showing Willliam’s professional agility and diversity that has become an example for others to follow.

And lastly, as part of this year’s TMA Hall of Fame Class, Al Togut, known as a “dean” of the bankruptcy bar and one of the luminaries of our industry, having practiced for the last 45 years, and having served as counsel to debtors, official committees of unsecured creditors, and principal owners of some of the largest and most high profile chapter 11 cases ever filed.  Al is a fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy and International Insolvency Institute as well as having served on numerous industry commissions and task forces, a testament to how he has been an integral part of the evolution of the corporate restructuring industry for a generation.

The past TMA chairs being recognized are:

  • 2018 Global Chair Milly Chow, Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP 
  • 2019 Global Chair Kevin Krakora, CTP, Getzler Henrich & Associates 
  • 2020 Global Chair Jeffrey Hampton, Saul Ewing LLP 
  • 2021 Global Chair Derek Meek, Burr & Forman LLP 
  • 2022 Global Chair Matthew English, CTP, Arch + Beam

The Hall of Fame inductees were chosen by the TMA Hall of Fame Committee.

  • TMA Global Chair Jane Mitnick, SM Financial Services: Committee Chair
  • Sally Barton, KeyBank
  • David Cohen, Gowling WLG (Canada) LLP
  • William Henrich, CTP, Getzler Henrich & Associates LLC
  • Mark Indelicato, Thompson Coburn Hahn & Hessen LLP
  • Rob Katz, CTP, EisnerAmper LLP