©2024 M-Buck Studio, LLC. | mbuckstudio.com
How did you gravitate toward turnaround and restructuring work? Jeff Gillesse: My nature is being a fixer. As a young boy, I always took things apart to analyze them and figure out ways to restore them back to usefulness. That mindset continued into my early career, where I owned and operated an...
Albert Yau, Secondprint Productions, LLC. | https://www.secondprintproductions.com
How did you gravitate toward turnaround and restructuring work? Allen: While at the University of Michigan Law School, I worked as a research assistant for Professor James J. White, a renowned expert on the UCC. I had taken his notoriously tough negotiation class, but I found myself working on a...
©2024 Justin Kase Conder | @JKasePhoto, www.jkase.com
How did you gravitate toward turnaround and restructuring work? Sumner: When I started my first job after law school, I was placed in a practice group that mostly represented banks and other creditors. One particular partner was a bankruptcy veteran. I didn’t take bankruptcy in law school, so had...
©2024 Michael Ray Photography, www.michaelray.com
Q: How did I gravitate toward turnaround and restructuring work? Rice: About 15 years ago, I stepped into a key role as the replacement for the CFO of a company facing loan defaults. At the outset, I was uncertain about the implications of this move. The prevailing belief was that the previous CFO...
©2023 Sky Tech One    |     victor@skytechone.com
Q: How did you gravitate toward turnaround/restructuring work? Manewitz: I received my degree in art history and design from Hunter College in New York and truly wanted a career in design, but I never quite got there. I married my husband of 53 years the day after I graduated and needed to work...
©2023 Lindstrom Photography LLC, www.nathanlindstrom.com
Q: How did you find your way into the turnaround/restructuring industry? Geise: I joined Houston-based Porter Hedges LLP as a litigation associate straight out of law school, so I focused on complex commercial litigation for the first couple of years of my practice. But as bankruptcy work heated up...
©2023 Harry Photo, www.harryphoto.com
Q: How did you gravitate into turnaround/restructuring work? Boydston: I was at SMU (Southern Methodist University) Law, and after my first year, I went to every single law firm’s “meet our lawyers” event held during the summer for law students. At the end of the summer, I was at Greenburg Traurig...
©2022 Jim Darling, www.jimdarlingphoto.com
Q: How did you gravitate into turnaround/restructuring work? KIM: My dad was in the plastic injection molding business for most of his professional career, and he had sold a business. He was semi-retired by the time my younger brother and I were around 10 and 12. My dad had gone through the...
©2022 Christopher Beauchamp, www.christopherbeauchamp.com
Q: How did you gravitate into lending into turnaround or distressed situations as opposed to other types of lending? KANE: As you know, 98% of the bankers who participate in TMA are lenders. I am not. I’m a transactional services guy, so I work in US Bank’s Global Corporate Trust Services, which...
©2022 Onion Studio., www.onionstudio.com
Q: How did you gravitate into turnaround/restructuring work? Bogucki: I started working in restaurants when I was 15, washing dishes. I did the typical climb through the ranks. I was working full time in kitchens, 40-plus hours a week, when I was a junior and senior in high school. I’d get out of...