Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Share

TMA Announces the 2023 TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards

TMA Announces the 2023 TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards

CHICAGO, IL – The Turnaround Management Association (TMA), the premier nonprofit serving corporate renewal and restructuring professionals worldwide, is proud to announce the winners of the 2023 Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards. TMA will honor this year’s award recipients at the TMA Annual Conference, October 3-6, in San Francisco, Calif. 

Since 1993, TMA has honored excellence through its annual awards program, which recognizes the most successful turnarounds and impactful transactions industrywide. 

"We stand in awe of the talent displayed by this year’s TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Award recipients, emblematic of the transformative power that turnaround and restructuring industry professionals hold. Through their unwavering dedication, these individuals have helped salvage and reinvigorate businesses and have shepherded businesses through bankruptcy when a turnaround isn’t possible. The accolades bestowed upon these outstanding individuals, chosen through an exacting process by the esteemed panel of experts who make up the TMA Awards Committee, underscore their profound impact on the world of commerce. Their stories are a testament to the indomitable spirit of our industry and the boundless possibilities that arise when expertise meets opportunity," says TMA Global Chief Executive Officer Scott Y. Stuart, Esq.

The Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards are chosen based on a rigorous peer-review process by the volunteer TMA Awards Committee. This process includes extensive diligence of each nominated case. As the judges review all components of each entry, they look for well-defined, measurable outcomes. 

This year’s TMA Awards Committee was co-chaired by Sharon F. Manewitz, Manewitz Weiker Associates LLC, and Jennifer Meyerowitz, Esq., SAK Healthcare. Awards submissions were reviewed and judged by the TMA Awards Committee members listed below.

The 2023 TMA Turnaround/Transaction of the Year Award Winners are:
Small Company Turnaround/Transaction—Pogo Energy LLC
Matthew Bouslog, (previously with Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP) Now with Allen Matkins
Jamie Chronister, SeatonHill
Rachael Smiley, Ferguson Braswell, Fraser Kubasta PC
Phil Terry, Pogo Energy LLC

Mid-Size Company Turnaround/Transaction—Express Grain Terminals
James Baring, CR3 Partners
Frank Childress, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell, & Berkowitz, PC
Craig Geno, Craig M Geno PLLC
Dennis Gerrard, CR3 Partners
David Houston, Burr & Furman 
Eric Johnson, Spencer Fane
Kristina Johnson, Jones Walker
Kelli Norfleet, Haynes Boone

Mid-Size Company Turnaround/Transaction— National Steel and Agro Industries Limited
Dushyant C Dave , Resolution Professional. Puneet Advisory Services P Ltd
Nishit Dave, Decode Resolvency International 
Kumar Gaurav, JM Financial Asset Reconstruction Company Ltd
Sanjay Goel, JSW Steel Limited
Nirmal K. Jain, National Steel and Agro Industries Limited 
Madhav Kanoria, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas 
Kaustubh Kulkarni, JSW Steel Limited
Dhrupad Vaghani, Lex Aeterna Practices LEAP
L. Viswanathan, Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas

Large Company Turnaround/Transaction—CHC Helicopter
Robert Albergotti, CHC Group LLC
Jon Baluzy, AlixPartners LLP
Chris Hopkins, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Matthew Longstaff, Norton Rose Fulbright
Ronak Patel, FTI Consulting
Benjamin Rhode, Ropes & Gray
Andrew Swift, Moelis & Company
Patrick Dean, Alvarez & Marsal

Large Company Turnaround/Transaction—Pipeline Health System LLC
Benjamin Beller, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
David Botter, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP 
Jaimie Fedell, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Jeffrey Finger, Jefferies LLC
Narendra Ganti, FTI Consulting
Jayme Goldstein, Paul Hastings LLP
Daniel Homrich, Jefferies LLC
Jaspinder Kanwal, Jefferies LLC
Kristhy Peguero, Jackson Walker LLP
Russell Perry, Ankura Consulting Group LLC
Ben Jones, Ankura Consulting Group LLC
Alan Dalsass, Ankura Consulting Group LLC
Rohid Ahmed, Ankura Consulting Group LLC
Steven Serajeddini, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Sarah Schultz, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Cliff Zucker, FTI Consulting

Mega Company Turnaround/Transaction— Garuda Indonesia
Ibrahim Sjarief Assegaf, Assegaf Hamzah & Partners
Bryan Goudzwaard, Houlihan Lokey
Phil Hertz, Clifford Chance
Sam Katz, Guggenheim Securities LLC
Shaun Langhorne, Clifford Chance
Polina Lyadnova, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Josh Mendelsohn, Guggenheim Securities LLC
Adam Preiss, Guggenheim Securities LLC
Robert Ramirez, Guggenheim Securities LLC
Harold Jonathan Dharma Tjiptadjaja, PT Mandiri Sekuritas
Mark Walker, Guggenheim Securities LLC

International Company Turnaround/Transaction—Altán Redes, S.A.P.I. de C.V.
Iker Arriola, Creel, García-Cuéllar, Aiza y Enríquez
Fernando del Castillo, Del Castillo y Castro Abogados
Floris Iking, Alvarez & Marsal
Victor Leclercq, Rothschild & Co
Carlos Mainero, White & Case
Diego Ordoñez, Altán Redes
Alejandro Sainz, Sainz Abogados

International Company Turnaround/Transaction—LATAM Airlines Group S.A. 
Allan Brilliant, Dechert LLP
Gerard Catalanello, Alston
Rich Cooper, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP 
Avinash D’Souza, Evercore
Brock Edgar, FTI Consulting 
Ken Epstein, Kramer Levin
Jose Maria Eyzaguirre, Claro y Cia
Aurelio Garcia-Miro, Riveron Consulting 
Marshall Huebner, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
Brent Herlihy, PJT Partners LLP
Ricky Mason, Wachtell
Devi Rajani, FTI Consulting
Rachael Ringer, Kramer Levin 
Lisa Schweitzer, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Elizabeth Lapuma, (previously with UBS)

Non-Profit Company Turnaround/Transaction— Woodlawn Community
Seth Barnett, Affordable Housing Advisors
James Busk, High Ridge Partners LLC
Catalin Diaconu, High Ridge Partners LLC
Daniel Hyman, Millennium Properties R/E Inc.
Harold Israel, Levenfeld Pearlstein, LLC
Gina Krol, Cohen & Krol
Sean Williams, Levenfeld Pearlstein, LLC

TMA 2023 Awards Committee
Co-Chair: Sharon F. Manewitz, Manewitz Weiker Associates LLC 
Co-Chair: Jennifer Meyerowitz, Esq., SAK Healthcare
John D. Baumgartner, Grant Thornton LLP 
Sara L. Chenetz, Perkins Coie LLP
Patrick Diercks, CTP, PKF Clear Thinking LLC
Joseph M. Esmont, Baker & Hostetler LLP 
Neil Gupta, SSG Capital Advisors LLC 
Randi M. Hershgordon, Gibraltar Business Capital
Matt Lupton, Armanino 
DJ Miller, Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP 
John J. Salmas, Dentons Canada LLP
Bryce A. Suzuki, Snell & Wilmer LLP
Reed Upson, Business Capital

About TMA
TMA is the most diverse group of professionals in the turnaround, restructuring, and corporate health space. It is the only non-profit global organization that allows members of the industry to build their personal brand and develop their professional network. Members include turnaround specialists, attorneys, accountants, advisors, liquidators, consultants, as well as academics, government employees, and members of the judiciary. Visit for more information.