Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Share

Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards to Be Presented at The TMA Annual

TMA will honor 72 professionals with the prestigious 2017 Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards during a special awards celebration at The 2017 TMA Annual, taking place October 23-25 at the Omni Fort Worth Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas. 

Since 1993, TMA has honored excellence through its annual awards program, which recognizes the most successful turnarounds and impactful transactions. This year’s winners saved countless jobs and made a significant economic impact, both locally and globally.

The 2017 TMA Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Award Winners are:

Turnaround of the Year: Mega Company – Aéropostale, Inc. 
Garrett Fail, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Robert Feinstein, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones, LLP
Jacqueline Marcus, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Jeffrey Pomerantz, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones, LLP
Bradford J. Sandler, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones, LLP
Ray C. Schrock, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP 
Gavin Westerman, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP 

Turnaround of the Year: Large Company – Life Partners Holdings, Inc. 
Katharine Battaia Clark, Thompson & Knight LLP
David M. Bennett, Thompson & Knight LLP
Jason S. Brookner, Gray Reed & McGraw LLP
H. Thomas Moran II, Asset Servicing Group, LLC
Jay H. Ong, Munsch Hardt
Dawn Ragan, Bridgepoint Consulting LLC
Joseph Wielebinski, Munsch Hardt
Dan Young, Vida Capital

Turnaround of the Year: Mid-Size Company – Gilbert Hospital, LLC and Florence Hospital at Anthem, LLC
Daniel E. Garrison, Andante Law Group, PLLC
Bryce A. Suzuki, Bryan Cave LLP
Thomas M. Kim, CTP, r2 advisors llc
Carolyn J. Johnsen, Dickinson Wright
Gerald L. Shelley, Fennemore Craig
Hilary L. Barnes, Allen Barnes & Jones, PLC

Turnaround of the Year: Small Company – Vermont Aerospace
Jeff Sands, CTP, Dorset Partners LLC
Larry Schwoeri, AIAC and Vermont Aerospace LLC
Jon Verbeck, Verbeck Associates, LLC
Kristin Wainright, Tobin Carberry O'Malley Riley & Selinger PC

Turnaround of the Year: International Company – Pacific Exploration & Production Corp.
Mica Arlette, PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Scott Bomhof, Torys LLP
Gabriel de Alba, The Catalyst Capital Group Inc.
Andrew Kent, McMillan LLP
Pierre Laporte, Deloitte Restructuring Inc.
Brendan O'Neill, Goodmans LLP
Greg Prince, PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc.
Tony Reyes, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP
Robert Thornton, Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP

Turnaround of the Year: Non-Profit Company – Lutheran Social Services of Illinois
James E. Harney, Harney Management Partners, LLC
Gregory S. Milligan, CTP, Harney Management Partners, LLC
Alan R. Samsky, Harney Management Partners, LLC

Transaction of the Year: Mega Company – Texas Competitive Electric Holdings Company LLC (“TCEH”)
Andrew Calder, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Chad Husnick, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Paul Keglevic, Energy Future Holdings
Marc Kieselstein, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Michelle Kilkenney, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Jeremy Matican, Evercore
Todd F. Maynes, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Edward O. Sassower, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
James H.M. Sprayregen, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Jeffery Stegenga, Alvarez & Marsal
John Stuart, Alvarez & Marsal
Bo Yi, Evercore
David Ying, Evercore

Transaction of the Year: Large Company – Sabine Oil & Gas 
Brandon Aebersold, Lazard
Ryan Blaine Bennett, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Jesse DelConte, Zolfo Cooper
Jonathan Henes, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Christopher Marcus, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Joff Mitchell, Zolfo Cooper
Andrew Ralph, Zolfo Cooper
Parry Sorensen, Lazard

Transaction of the Year: Mid-Size Company – Penn Virginia
R. Seth Bullock, Alvarez & Marsal
Mary Kogut, Kirkland & Ellis LLP 
Richard Morgner, Jefferies LLC
Edward O. Sassower, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Brian Schartz, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Transaction of the Year: Small Company – Juniper GTL LLC
David Rush, CTP, FTI Consulting
Michael Bui, FTI Consulting
Mark Wege, formerly of King & Spalding LLP 
James D. Decker, Guggenheim Securities, LLC
Joseph Weissglass, formerly of Guggenheim Securities, LLC

Transaction of the Year: International – Molycorp Inc.
Kenneth Buckfire, Miller Buckfire & Co.
Kevin Haggard, Miller Buckfire & Co.
Ken Hiltz, AlixPartners
George Howard, Jones Day

For a list of past award winners, click here.