Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Share

TMA NYC Proudly Announces the Winners of the 2017 Student Paper Competition

TMA New York Student Paper Competition Winners Announced | March 3, 2017

Continuing a long-standing tradition of the Chapter, TMA New York is pleased to announce the winners of its semiannual Student Paper Competition.

The TMA New York Student Paper Competition recognizes outstanding student achievement in the field of corporate renewal, as well as research that may offer new insight into the profession and expand TMA’s university outreach. The program establishes building blocks for future relationships with those students who have submitted papers, some of whom may eventually enter the industry full-time.

Students enrolled in an MBA program or equivalent business-related master’s degree program at an accredited university in the New York City area were eligible to enter. The competition judges evaluate the papers based on established criteria, including relevance to issues pertinent to corporate distress, financial restructuring, and reorganization; well-written, clearly constructed, and thorough treatment of the subject; originality of the subject and its interpretation; and depth of research and quality of analysis and presentation.

First Place:

Brett Lacher, Robert Dann and David Olstein from Columbia University's Business School have been awarded first place for their paper titled Grasping at Thin Air: Sustained Depressed Oil Prices and OverSupply Plague Helicopter Transportation Industry. Click to read the paper.

Second Place:

Nick Dragisic, Jack Levendoski, Harinder Singh, Christoper Kretzman from New York University' Stern School of Business have been awarded second place for their paper titled Sun Edison: The Rise and Fall of the World's Largest Renewable Energy Company. Click to read the paper.

Third Place:

Andrew Gulotta, Thomas Knapp, Trevor Thomas Russo from Columbia University' Business School have been awarded third place for their paper titled Tidewater's Path to Staving Off Bankruptcy. Click to read the paper.

“We are pleased with the high quality of submissions this year as in the past, and I appreciate and acknowledge the work of the Committee members who helped set the standards, grade the students’ papers and coordinate the results,” said Lawrence Loeb, who serves as Chair of the Academic Relations Committee of the TMA New York Chapter.

The Academic Relations Committee

Director | Chair, Lawrence Loeb
Vice Chair, George Utlik, Arent Fox LLP
Purav Adiecha, Grant Thornton
Jasmine Ball, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Thomas Buck, CTP, Eisner Amper LLP
Eric Chafetz, Lowenstein Sandler
Samuel Dawidowicz, Quest Turnaround Advisors, LLC
Larry Halperin, Chapman and Cutler
James Horgan, PwC
Harry Malinowski, HBM Mgmt Assoc.
James Millar, Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Marti Murray, Murray Analytics
Brian Sanvidge, Baker Tilly
Steve Schwartz, White & Case LLP
Brett Theisen, Gibbons P.C.