Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email Share

TMA NYC Proudly Announces the Winners of the 2020 Student Paper Competition


TMA New York Student Paper Competition Winners Announced | September 2020

Continuing a long-standing tradition of the Chapter, TMA New York is pleased to announce the winners of its semiannual Student Paper Competition.

The TMA New York Student Paper Competition recognizes outstanding student achievement in the field of corporate renewal, as well as research that may offer new insight into the profession and expand TMA’s university outreach. The program establishes building blocks for future relationships with those students who have submitted papers, some of whom may eventually enter the industry full-time.

Students enrolled in an MBA program or equivalent business-related master’s degree program at an accredited university in the New York City area were eligible to enter. The competition judges and evaluates the papers based on established criteria, including relevance to issues pertinent to corporate distress, financial restructuring, and reorganization; well-written, clearly constructed, and thorough treatment of the subject; originality of the subject and its interpretation; and depth of research and quality of analysis and presentation.

First Place:

Ashwin Advani, Rohan Agashe, and Jonathan Grohs from New York University Stern School of Business have been awarded first place for their paper entitled Bankruptcy in British Football. PDF iconClick to read the paper.

Second Place:

Jarett Bienenstock, Ryan Fitzgerald, Max Glasser, and Kwan Kim from New York University Stern School of Business have been awarded second place for their paper entitled The Downfall of Sears. PDF iconClick to read the paper.

Third Place:

Daniel Barron, Siddhartha  Kaparthy, Hannah Rose Schonwald, and Gabriel Yang from New York University Stern School of Business have been awarded third place for their paper entitled Predicting Default in the Oil and Gas Industry Using an Altman Z-Score Type Model. PDF iconClick to read the paper.

“We are pleased with the quality of the students’ submissions this year.  I appreciate and acknowledge the work of the Committee’s members who have helped set the standards, grade the students’ papers, and coordinate the results,” said George V. Utlik, who serves as Chair of the Academic Relations Committee of the TMA New York Chapter.

The Academic Relations Committee
Director | Chair, George Utlik, Herrick, Feinstein LLP
Vice Chair, Purav Adiecha, Grant Thornton LLP
Prof. Edward Altman, NYU, Stern School of Business
Gabriel Archibald, PwC
Jasmine Ball, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Eric Chafetz, Lowenstein Sandler LLP
David Forsh, Thompson Hine LLP
Joseph Frantz, M-III Partners
Larry Halperin, Chapman and Cutler LLP
William Hao, Alston & Bird LLP
Bradford Sandler, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones, LLP
Patryk Szafranski, AlixPartners
Bert Weil, Getzler Henrich & Assoc
Evan Zucker, Blank Rome LLP